Denise Bibro Fine Art, NYC, is pleased to present a virtual exhibition of outstanding artists chosen from numerous submissions for this year’s #COLLAGENOW competition
March 18 – May 15, 2024

Assimilated works of the artists featured in #COLLAGENOW 2024 exhibition. The image features work by Stacy Bergener, Colleen Cunningham, Debra Friedkin, Iona Fromboluti, Christine Graf, Jill Haas, Susan Hensel, Roxane Hollosi, Iliyan Ivanov, Florence Alfano McEwin, Tomo Mori, Anastasya Peña, Deborah W. Perlman, Stewart Siskind, Julien Tomasello, Alex Wetmore, Cindy Zaglin.

Denise Bibro Fine Art celebrates the ancient tradition of collage, which is an art form loved by many. The word collage originates from the French word coller, meaning “to glue” or “to stick together”. First developed in China in 200 B.C., it was then picked up as an art form victoriously in the 10th Century by Japanese calligraphers, who glued paper and used text on surfaces when writing poetry. The Asian world gravitated to the inherent uses of paper as a means and language of expression to emote feelings, relationships, and compositions, provoking heartfelt narratives.

Collage, as we know it, came into our world with Cubist artists such as Georges Braque and Pablo Picasso, who first pioneered the twentieth-century movement. These artists provoked us to see space and form differently by assembling and juxtaposing paper and other various materials on surfaces. Another 20th-century artist, Kurt Schwitters, took collage to a whole new level. Up to this day, many consider him to be ‘The King of Collage’.

Each of the artists in this exhibition honors their forebears and continues to validate this language of art in their own ways. We invite all of you to view their deftly crafted work on our Website and Artsy.

Featured artists include:

Stacy Bergener
Colleen Cunningham
Debra Friedkin
Iona Fromboluti
Anne-Joëlle Galley
Christine Graf
Jill Haas
Susan Hensel
Roxane Hollosi
Iliyan Ivanov
Florence Alfano McEwin
Tomo Mori
Anastasya Peña
Deborah W. Perlman
Lorelle Rau
Barbara Rosenthal
Stewart Siskind
Kari Souders
Julien Tomasello
Alex Wetmore
Cindy Zaglin

Leave a Comment